About Odd Mom

Why Odd Mom?

I’m 44 years old.

I’m a homeschooling mom. A primarily unschooling mom.

I’m a single mom.

I’m a work-at-home mom.

None of these things are odd on their own, but taken together — well, let’s just say that I don’t run into many people that have all of that in common with me.

Oh, yeah, and my nose is pierced.

Other things:

I love to cook. You might have guessed that, huh? I also am quite the bibliophile. I play computer games (sometimes).

I have fibromyalgia. I walk with a cane a lot of the time. I am a chronic insomniac, and have been for over 30 years. I now have medical help to get sleep, and I couldn’t be more thrilled. I am overweight.  I have been a “real food” person for well over a year now, but now I am eating lighter (but still real food) and exercising daily for the first time in my life – both to lose weight and to attempt to help the fibromyalgia be less intrusive on my life.

I am a survivor of abuse. I also kind of hate the term “survivor” in this usage, but it’s a gajillion times better than “victim”.

My oldest daughter is 23 and  lives 1000 miles away from me. I hate that. I miss her more than she even knows, and at the same time, I’m so very proud of her, and intensely happy that she’s making a good life for herself. Although I do wish she’d call more often.

My kids at home are 15 (girl), 13 (boy) and 10 (boy). All of them are incredibly wonderful kids and so much fun to be around. Don’t believe that thing you hear about teenage girls being horrible to live with. I’m on my second teenage girl now, and they’ve both been joys. So is my newly-teen son. So I’m not buying it.

I love (most) things domestic, and I decided to start a blog so that I could share my experience with other folks.

Leave a Reply